- Municipal Court
- Protective Orders
How Do I Get a Court Order?
Protective Orders can be issued by any court in the State of Arizona. Their purpose is to restrain a person from committing an act of harassment or domestic violence. These types of cases are given high priority because of the nature of the violations. To review more specific information regarding the Order of Protection and Injunctions Against Harassment, please read Guide Sheet for Protective Orders.
After regular court business hours and during weekends and holidays, any police officer can assist you in obtaining an emergency protection order. It is best to obtain a protective order from the court in your community; however, if the situation involves minor children common to the adult parties, please contact Pinal County Superior Court. Protective orders against a minor under 12 years old can be obtained through the Pinal County Superior Court Juvenile Division.
AZPOINT, the Arizona Protective Order Initiation and Notification Tool, has been designed to help you fill out a petition for an Order of Protection. Through an interview in AZPOINT, you can quickly and accurately fill out the forms that are needed to request an Order of Protection at an Arizona court. An Order of Protection is a court order that is issued to stop a person from committing domestic violence or from contacting other people protected by the order. The portal will also help you figure out whether you (the plaintiff) and the person from whom you are seeking protection (the defendant) have a qualifying relationship for an Order of Protection. Your information will be saved in AZPOINT for up to 90 days. At any time during this 90-day period, you may take the next step of filing your petition at an Arizona court. Until you file your petition at a court, you will be able to return to AZPOINT to update your information if necessary. You are encouraged to speak to a victim advocate before you file your petition. An advocate can help you make a safety plan and give you more information about how an Order of Protection works and how it will be served on the defendant. For more information, click here to go to AZPOINT (https://azpoint.azcourts.gov/)
If you are unable to access the website through AZPOINT, you can obtain the appropriate forms (Plaintiff Information Sheet and Protective Order Petition) shown below through this site. The forms can be printed then completed and brought to the court. Forms can also be obtained in person at the court. If you choose to complete the paper forms prior to coming to court please review and complete the Plaintiff Information Sheet and the Protective Order Petition. The petition is a public record and a copy will be served on the defendant if the order is granted. You may also obtain all the necessary forms at the court. Please come prepared to provide sworn testimony to support your petition. Have specific dates, times, and places for events which you feel constitute the issuance of the protective order. There is no fee for filing a petition for a protective order.
What Happens Next?
If the protective order is granted, and served on the defendant on/after September 24, 2022 the order will be in effect for two years from the original service date.
Violation of the order may result in arrest and prosecution. Violations are prosecuted in the jurisdiction where the violation occurred, under ARS§ 13-2810, Interference with Judicial Proceedings, a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
For additional information, including resource information, you may choose to review the Do You Feel Safe at Home? brochure and the Pinal County Domestic Violence Safety Plan. You may also visit the Apache Junction Police Department Victim Assistant page for victim services information. The following booklet has been published by the Arizona Supreme Court to provide general information on protective orders Protective Order Booklet